• A B C D E F G H I J K L M N 0 P R S T U V Y
  • A B C D E F G H I J K L M N 0 P R S T U V Y
  • Friday, 23 August 2013

    Nobel Peace Prize laureates from 1901, when the prize was first awarded until 2012

    2012: The European Union (EU)
    2011: Ellen Johnson Sirleaf and Leymah Gbowee (Liberia), Tawakkul Karman (Yemen)
    2010: Liu Xiaobo (China)
    2009: Barack Obama (US)
    2008: Martti Ahtisaari (Finland)

    2007: Al Gore (US) and the UN Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change
    2006: Muhammad Yunus (Bangladesh) and the Grameen Bank
    2005: International Atomic Energy Agency and Mohamed ElBaradei (Egypt)
    2004: Wangari Maathai (Kenya)
    2003: Shirin Ebadi (Iran)
    2002: Jimmy Carter (US)
    2001: Kofi Annan (Ghana) and the United Nations
    2000: Kim Dae Jung (South Korea)
    1999: Medecins Sans Frontieres (Doctors Without Borders)
    1998: John Hume and David Trimble (Northern Ireland)
    1997: Jody Williams (US) and the International Campaign to Ban Landmines
    1996: Carlos Filipe Ximenes Belo and Jose Ramos-Horta (East Timor)
    1995: Joseph Rotblat (Britain) and the Pugwash movement
    1994: Yitzhak Rabin, Shimon Peres (Israel) and Yasser Arafat (PLO)
    1993: Nelson Mandela and Frederik de Klerk (South Africa)
    1992: Rigoberta Menchu (Guatemala)
    1991: Aung San Suu Kyi (Burma)
    1990: Mikhail Gorbachev (Soviet Union)
    1989: Dalai Lama (Tibet)
    1988: United Nations Peacekeeping Forces
    1987: Oscar Arias Sanchez (Costa Rica)
    1986: Elie Wiesel (US)
    1985: International Physicians for the Prevention of Nuclear War
    1984: Desmond Tutu (South Africa)
    1983: Lech Walesa (Poland)
    1982: Alva Myrdal (Sweden) and Alfonso Garcia Robles (Mexico)
    1981: Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees
    1980: Adolfo Perez Esquivel (Argentina)
    1979: Mother Teresa (Albania)
    1978: Anwar Sadat (Egypt) and Menachem Begin (Israel)
    1977: Amnesty International
    1976: Betty Williams (Britain) and Mairead Corrigan (Northern Ireland)
    1975: Andrei Sakharov (Soviet Union)
    1974: Sean MacBride (Ireland) and Eisaku Sato (Japan)
    1973: Henry Kissinger (US) and Le Duc Tho (Vietnam, declined)
    1972: prize not handed out
    1971: Willy Brandt (Germany)
    1970: Norman Borlaug (US)
    1969: International Labour Organisation
    1968: Rene Cassin (France)
    1967: prize not handed out
    1966: prize not handed out
    1965: United Nations Children's Fund (UNICEF)
    1964: Martin Luther King Jr (US)
    1963: International Committee of the Red Cross and the League of Red Cross Societies
    1962: Linus Carl Pauling (US)
    1961: Dag Hammarskjoeld (Sweden)
    1960: Albert Lutuli (South Africa)
    1959: Philip Noel-Baker (Britain)
    1958: Georges Pire (Belgium)
    1957: Lester Pearson (Canada)
    1956: prize not handed out
    1955: prize not handed out
    1954: Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees
    1953: George Marshall (US)
    1952: Albert Schweitzer (France)
    1951: Leon Jouhaux (France)
    1950: Ralph Bunche (US)
    1949: Lord (John) Boyd Orr of Brechin (Britain)
    1948: prize not handed out
    1947: Friends Service Council (The Quakers), American Friends Service Committee (The Quakers)
    1946: Emily Greene Balch (US), John Raleigh Mott (US)
    1945: Cordell Hull (US)
    1944: International Committee of the Red Cross
    1943: prize not handed out
    1942: prize not handed out
    1941: prize not handed out
    1940: prize not handed out
    1939: prize not handed out
    1938: Nansen International Office for Refugees
    1937: Viscount Cecil of Chelwood (Britain)
    1936: Carlos Saavedra Lamas (Argentina)
    1935: Carl von Ossietzky (Germany)
    1934: Arthur Henderson (Britain)
    1933: Sir Norman Angell (Ralph Lane) (Britain)
    1932: prize not handed out
    1931: Jane Addams (US) and Nicholas Murray Butler (US)
    1930: Nathan Soederblom (Sweden)
    1929: Frank Billings Kellogg (US)
    1928: prize not handed out
    1927: Ferdinand Buisson (France) and Ludwig Quidde (Germany)
    1926: Aristide Briand (France) and Gustav Stresemann (Germany)
    1925: Sir Austen Chamberlain (Britain) and Charles Gates Dawes (US)
    1924: prize not handed out
    1923: prize not handed out
    1922: Fridtjof Nansen (Norway)
    1921: Karl Hjalmar Branting (Sweden) and Christian Lous Lange (Norway)
    1920: Leon Victor Auguste Bourgeois (France)
    1919: Thomas Woodrow Wilson (US)
    1918: prize not handed out
    1917: International Committee of the Red Cross
    1916: prize not handed out
    1915: prize not handed out
    1914: prize not handed out
    1913: Henri La Fontaine (Belgium)
    1912: Elihu Root (US)
    1911: Tobias Michael Carel Asser (The Netherlands) and Alfred Hermann Fried (Austria)
    1910: Permanent International Peace Bureau
    1909: Auguste Marie François Beernaert (Belgium) and Paul Henri Benjamin Balluet, Baron d'Estournelles de Constant de Rebecque (France)
    1908: Klas Pontus Arnoldson (Sweden) and Fredrik Bajer (Denmark)
    1907: Ernesto Teodoro Moneta (Italy) and Louis Renault (France)
    1906: Theodore Roosevelt (US)
    1905: Baroness Bertha Sophie Felicita von Suttner (Austria)
    1904: Institute of International Law
    1903: William Randal Cremer (Britain)
    1902: Elie Ducommun (Switzerland) and Charles Albert Gobat (Switzerland)
    1901: Jean Henri Dunant (Switzerland) and Frederic Passy (France)